Be Safe Curriculum: PSHE and RSE

At Bowsland, our Be Safe curriculum is a vital part in developing our young learners into citizens who are ready for the future. This curriculum is led by The Jigsaw Approach, with weekly class based sessions, alongside other enrichment opportunities. The Jigsaw Approach is a whole school scheme for PSHE (personal, social and health education), including RSE (relationships and sex education), which includes mindfulness techniques. It was created by Jan Lever. There are 6 different themes:

Autumn 1: Being Me in My World.

Autumn 2: Celebrating Difference, including Anti-Bullying

Spring 1: Dreams and Goals

Spring 2: Healthy Me

Summer 1: Relationships

Summer 2: Changing Me

Each theme is broken up into 6 puzzle pieces for each year group, which end in a product. Each puzzle piece has a PSHE objective and a Social and Emotional literacy objective, designed to support pupils Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural Development (SMSC). The lessons are split into different sections, following the same structure each time.

  1. Connect Us – a team building game, aiming to improve pupil’s social skills to better enable collaborative learning
  2. Calm Me – mindfulness using a chime, to prepare pupil’s for learning
  3. Open My Mind – a explorative activity or question, to help the brain to focus on specific learning intentions
  4. Tell Me/Show Me – a discursive activity to initiate new learning
  5. Let Me Learn – a group or independent activity to reinforce the new learning
  6. Help Me Reflect – to support pupil’s in reflecting on their learning and personal development

RSE (Relationship and Sex Education)

The Summer Term’s of Jigsaw include coverage of Relationship and Sex Education, aiming to ‘give children their entitlement to information about relationships, puberty and human reproduction appropriate to their ages and stages of development. This work is treated in a matter-of-fact and sensitive manner to allay embarrassment and fear and helps children to cope with change, including puberty and to learn about families, friendships and healthy relationships.’ These sessions are taught in line with our RSE policy, which was developed after much consultation with parents, staff and governors during 2017 and then again in 2019. All lessons are taught by a teacher from the key stage using simple, child friendly language and pictures. There are frequent opportunities for reflection and questions, via a question box. If a question from a child arises that is outside of the curriculum for that year group, it will be referred back to you as families. The content complements the statutory KS2 science curriculum, with includes reproduction.

Before the RSE units start, parents will have an opportunity to look at the jigsaw resources, including the videos, and ask questions at a session in school. Please do approach us or contact our Be Safe lead via the school office, if you wish to discuss the content of this further.

Relationships Overview:

Foundation Stage – Friendships – a good friend and how to solve problems

Year 1 – Friendships, families – how are they different, how are they the same?, my own qualities as a friend and those who are important to me

Year 2 – My family, kind hands – appropriate physical contact, conflict with friends, appropriate secrets, appreciating those to can help me in my community

Year 3 – Family roles and responsibilities, friendship, asking for help, being a global citizen

Year 4 – Loving families, Loss, Memories, Animal rights – different points of view, Special pets

Year 5 – Recognising me, getting on and falling out, healthy relationships in the future – age of consent, positive and negative aspects of relationships and what to do, relationships and technology – staying safe when communicating online

Year 6 – Significant people in my life, Loss and grief, power and control – what to do, being safe with technology. 

Changing Me Overview:

Foundation Stage – Growing up, how we have changed since we were babies

Year 1 – Boys’ and girls’ bodies; naming body parts

Year 2 – Boys’ and girls’ bodies; body parts and respecting privacy (which parts of the body are private and why this is)

Year 3 – How babies grow and how boys’ and girls’ bodies change as they grow older

Year 4 – Internal and external reproductive body parts, body changes in girls and menstruation

Year 5 – Puberty for boys and girls, and conception

Year 6 – Puberty for boys and girls and understanding conception to birth of a baby

DOWNLOAD: RSE Guide for Parents and Carers leaflet 2018

Specific Year Group Overviews:

These overviews show the coverage for each year group, for each of the 6 topics. The content for Relationships and Changing Me is within each year group document, on the 5th and 6th pages. Whilst these jigsaw published overviews give a general theme, often the topics are not covered in as much depth as the objective might suggest. Additionally, following parent consultation in March 2019, at Bowsland we are changing some of the objectives to better suit our policy and aims. Therefore, we have produced an additional overview, with these changes marked in red. These appear in Year 5, Relationships, Piece 3 and 5 – Healthy Relationships, in Year 4 Changing Me Piece 2 and 5 Changing Me, Piece 2 and 3 (with gender taught groups before whole class teaching of puberty) and in Year 6 Changing Me, Piece 5 – Looking Ahead.

Lessons are always designed to discuss topics at an age appropriate level, without sharing one specific point of view, allowing pupils to develop respectful attitudes to all. We are unable to publish the lessons in more detail on the website; however, for a more thorough understanding of how the different topics are covered, please attend an information session in school, contact the class teacher or our Be Safe Lead, to look at the lessons plans and resources in school.









Bowsland’s Session Overview Relationships Puzzle 2019

Bowsland’s Session Overview Changing Me Puzzle 2019